# Qwen3.8: Alibaba's 2.4T Open-Weight Bet — What We Actually Know

Alibaba unveiled Qwen3.8-Max-Preview: 2.4 trillion parameters, open-weight promise, multimodal. But zero benchmarks published. We separate confirmed facts from marketing claims in the most scrutinized AI launch of July 2026.

⚡ TL;DR — The 10-Second Version

🚀 **Qwen3.8-Max-Preview** is live on Alibaba Cloud Token Plan, Qoder, and QoderWork as of July 19, 2026.

📊 **2.4 trillion parameters** — claimed by Alibaba, not independently verified. No MoE/dense breakdown published.

🎨 **Multimodal:** text, image, and video input — first Qwen model over 1T parameters to support all three modalities.

💰 **Access starts at $6/month** via Token Plan Lite (39 CNY). No standalone per-token API pricing yet.

⚠️ **Zero benchmarks published.** Alibaba claims "second only to Fable 5" — no third-party evaluation supports this yet.

📅 **Open-weight promised** but no date, license, or HuggingFace repository exists. Treat as vaporware until the repo is live.

2.4T

Parameters (claimed)

$6

Per Month (Lite)

1M*

Context Window

3

Access Surfaces

* 1M context cited in Qwen Code v0.20.0 integration notes, not officially confirmed by Alibaba

## The Announcement That Split the Internet

On July 19, 2026, the Qwen team and Alibaba Cloud dropped an announcement simultaneously on X (formerly Twitter) that sent the AI community into overdrive. **Qwen3.8-Max-Preview** — a 2.4 trillion parameter multimodal model — was live within hours, accessible through Alibaba's Token Plan subscription, Qoder (their agentic coding IDE), and QoderWork (desktop assistant).

The timing was deliberate. Three days after Moonshot AI unveiled [Kimi K3](/kimi-k3-open-frontier-intelligence.html) at 2.8 trillion parameters, Alibaba positioned Qwen3.8 as the direct counter: slightly smaller on paper, but promising an open-weight release at a scale that would make self-hosting a frontier model theoretically possible — if you had the hardware.

The launch tweet from the Qwen team said the model is **"one of the most powerful models available today, compatible to leading frontier AI models, second only to Fable 5."** Developer Shuai Bai added that it's the team's first multimodal model with more than 1 trillion parameters, capable of processing images, videos, and documents.

>

"Qwen-3.8-Max reportedly outperforms GPT-5.6 Sol and trails Fable 5 by only a narrow margin. I know this still needs to be verified." — Chubby / @kimmonismus, July 19, 2026

The verification hasn't landed. Not a single benchmark table, not a model card, not a technical report. Just a parameter count, a capability claim, and a promise of open weights "soon."

## Confirmed vs. Claimed: The Full Checklist

Here's every Qwen3.8 claim sorted by whether it can currently be verified. This is the fastest way to sanity-check anything else you read about this model.

| **Claim** | **Status** | **Source**|
--- | --- | ---
| **Qwen3.8-Max-Preview exists** | ✅ Confirmed | Token Plan pricing pages, Qoder docs|
| **2.4 trillion total parameters** | ⚠️ Claimed | Alibaba launch tweet (unverified)|
| **Multimodal (text + image + video)** | ✅ Confirmed | Qwen team X post, community reports|
| **"Second only to Fable 5"** | ⚠️ Claimed | Alibaba self-assessment (no third-party eval)|
| **Open-weight release** | ⚠️ Promised | No date, license, or HF repo|
| **1M context window** | ⚠️ Unconfirmed | Cited in Qwen Code v0.20.0 notes only|
| **MoE architecture details** | ❌ Unknown | Not disclosed at all|
| **Active parameters per token** | ❌ Unknown | Not disclosed|
| **Published benchmarks** | ❌ None | Zero benchmark tables published|
| **Per-token API pricing** | ❌ Not published | Only subscription tiers available|

⚠️ The Claim to Scrutinize Most

Not the parameter count, but the **open-weight promise**, because Alibaba's own two most recent flagships — Qwen3.7-Max and Qwen3.6-Max-Preview — both shipped closed through Alibaba Cloud Model Studio with no weights published.

## The Qwen Lineage: How We Got to 3.8

Alibaba has shipped four flagship Qwen tiers in under a year, escalating from roughly 1 trillion parameters to a claimed 2.4 trillion. Understanding that cadence is the best available evidence for what Qwen3.8 will actually be, since the pattern has been remarkably consistent.

| **Model** | **Release** | **Parameters** | **Status**|
--- | --- | --- | ---
| Qwen3-Max | Sep 2025 | ~1T (first Qwen over 1T) | Proprietary, API-only|
| Qwen3.6-Max-Preview | Apr 2026 | ~1.5T (estimated) | Proprietary, API-only|
| Qwen3.7-Max | May 2026 | ~2T (estimated) | Proprietary, API-only|
| ⭐ Qwen3.8-Max-Preview | Jul 2026 | **2.4T** (claimed) | Preview, open-weight promised|

Two patterns matter here. First, every Max-tier flagship since Qwen3-Max has been proprietary, delivered through Alibaba Cloud Model Studio rather than HuggingFace. Second, Alibaba runs a genuine two-track strategy: the Max tier stays closed while the smaller Qwen3 and Qwen3-Coder lines ship under Apache 2.0 — which is why [Qwen3-Coder-480B](/qwen-agentworld-35b-a3b-open-source.html) sits in open-model rankings at 69.6% SWE-bench Verified.

**If Qwen3.8 truly goes open-weight at 2.4 trillion parameters, it breaks the Max-tier pattern completely.** That would be the real story, bigger than the parameter count, because it would mean Alibaba decided to open-source its crown jewel in the same month Moonshot and Thinking Machines did the same.

## What 2.4 Trillion Parameters Actually Means

A 2.4 trillion parameter Qwen3.8 would be the second largest model publicly known, behind Kimi K3's 2.8 trillion and ahead of Thinking Machines Lab's [Inkling](/inkling-thinking-machines.html) at 975 billion parameters. In a month where three labs pushed past a trillion, scale alone no longer buys headlines — but it does tell you something about architecture and cost.

The number that actually matters is not published anywhere: **active parameters**. Inkling runs 975 billion total but activates only 41 billion per token, which is why it can be served affordably. Kimi K3 and Qwen's Max tier are both sparse Mixture-of-Experts designs too. Without the active-parameter count, a 2.4T headline tells you nothing about whether you can afford to run it or whether any consumer hardware could host it.

For context, DeepSeek V4 Pro's 1.6T only activates about 49 billion parameters per token — roughly 3% of the network — which is why it runs at anything like a sane cost. If Qwen3.8 follows a similar sparsity ratio, the active parameter count could be in the 50-80B range, making it competitive with Kimi K3's 32B active parameters.

### Benchmark Positioning: Where Qwen3.8 Fits

Alibaba claims Qwen3.8 is "second only to Fable 5." Here's how that stacks up against the verified field we know today:

GPQA Diamond (graduate-level reasoning)

Fable 5 ~96%

Kimi K3 93.5%

Qwen3.7-Max 92.4%

Qwen3.8-Max* TBD

SWE-bench Verified (software engineering)

Fable 5 95%

Kimi K3 88.3%

Qwen3.7-Max 80.4%

Qwen3.8-Max* TBD

* Qwen3.8 benchmarks are placeholder estimates based on the 3.7-to-3.8 improvement trajectory. No official numbers exist.

Look at the GPQA row. Qwen3.7-Max is already within two points of the best model in the world on graduate-level reasoning, so a Qwen3.8 leading that benchmark is entirely believable. Now look at SWE-bench Verified, where Fable 5's 95% sits nearly 15 points clear. Closing that gap in one generation would be extraordinary, and Kimi K3, Inkling, and MiniMax M3 all tried and fell short this month.

🎯 Our prediction: Qwen3.8 lands top three on reasoning benchmarks, top five on coding, and first on price-to-performance. "Second only to Fable 5" is a marketing sentence, not a measurement — until someone publishes a table.

## Access and Pricing: $6/Month to the Frontier

Qwen3.8-Max-Preview is available through three official Alibaba surfaces, each with different pricing structures:

Token Plan Lite

$6

per month (39 CNY)

Best Value

Token Plan Standard

$18

per month (139 CNY)

Most Popular

Token Plan Pro

$68

per month (499 CNY)

Heavy Users

The Token Plan endpoint speaks both OpenAI and Anthropic protocols, which is why third-party clients including Claude Code, Cursor, Cline, and Codex work out of the box once an API key is issued. Alibaba has not yet published a standalone per-token price for a general-purpose API.

### Qoder's Aggressive Discounts

Qoder's own documentation lists Qwen3.8-Max-Preview at a **0.5x standard rate**, dropping to **0.05x (90% off)** during regular hours and **0.01x (98% off)** off-peak (14:00-00:00 UTC). The pricing is a promotional wrapper around a hosted preview — not a permanent list price.

🔒 CHECK THE OPERATOR BEFORE YOU PAY

Alibaba's international Token Plan page at `qwencloud.com` lists its operator as **Intelligent Cloud Computing (Singapore) Private Limited** rather than an `alibabacloud.com` domain. Confirm this entity against your Alibaba Cloud account before entering payment details, and prefer the official console where you have the choice.

## Architecture: The One Thing Nobody Knows

The public technical detail is thin. Alibaba's announcement highlights three claims and no architecture diagram:

1. **2.4T total parameters** — vendor-reported, no active-parameter or MoE-vs-dense breakdown

1. **Continuously evolving preview** — model behavior is expected to change during the preview window, and Alibaba reserves the right to swap or retire the endpoint

1. **Sharper code engineering and professional cowork** — improvements over Qwen3.7-Max framed around long-horizon coding and Office-style task execution rather than raw benchmark chasing

What we *can* infer from the Qwen lineage:

- **MoE is virtually certain** — Every Qwen flagship since Qwen3-Max has used Mixture-of-Experts. A dense 2.4T model would be computationally infeasible at any reasonable serving cost.

- **Hybrid attention is likely** — Qwen3-Next-80B-A3B (released July 10) combined transformer attention with linear recurrence layers. Qwen3.8-Max may use a similar hybrid approach for its 1M context window.

- **Grouped-query attention (GQA)** — All Qwen models since Qwen3 use GQA (96 query heads, 8 key-value heads). This reduces memory bandwidth requirements significantly.

- **16 experts active per token** — Qwen3-Coder-480B uses 160 experts with 8 active. Qwen3.8-Max likely uses a larger expert pool with more active experts per token, given the scale jump.

⚠️ The Question to Ask Alibaba First

**How many parameters activate per token?** That single number decides whether an open-weight 2.4T model is a genuine gift to the community or a trophy almost nobody can serve. Without it, the 2.4T headline is a marketing number, not a compute figure.

## What You Can Actually Do With Qwen3.8-Max

Based on the launch materials and early hands-on posts, the intended use cases cluster around three areas:

### Full-Stack Coding and Agentic Development

The model plugs into Qwen Code, Claude Code, Cursor, Cline, OpenCode, and Codex-style clients through Token Plan's OpenAI/Anthropic-compatible endpoint. Early testers have run classic "clone this app" tasks, including a hands-on rebuild of a Mac cleanup utility posted within hours of launch.

### Long-Horizon Professional Workflows

Alibaba specifically calls out Office-style automation and long-running agent tasks as areas where Qwen3.8-Max improves on 3.7-Max. The 1M context window (if accurate) would enable processing entire codebases, legal documents, or financial reports in a single pass.

### Multimodal Reasoning

Image and video inputs are supported per vendor description, though public examples so far focus on code, not vision. This is the first Qwen model over 1T parameters to natively support all three modalities — a significant architectural step.

## Qwen3.8 vs Kimi K3 vs Fable 5: The Real Comparison

Alibaba's positioning statement — "second only to Fable 5" — sets up an implicit hierarchy that no third party has verified yet. The following comparison uses only vendor-reported numbers and community claims explicitly labeled as such.

| **Model** | **Total Params** | **Active Params** | **Open Weights** | **Vendor Claim** | **Status**|
--- | --- | --- | --- | --- | ---
| ⭐ Qwen3.8-Max | 2.4T | Unknown | Promised | "Second only to Fable 5" | Preview (Jul 19)|
| Kimi K3 | 2.8T | 32B | Yes (planned) | Frontier-competitive | Announced|
| Claude Fable 5 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | No | Frontier | Released|
| Inkling | 975B | 41B | Yes | US lab leader | Released|

**Our read on the competitive landscape:**

- **vs Kimi K3:** Qwen3.8's open-weight promise directly challenges Kimi K3's positioning. But Kimi K3 has published benchmarks (93.5 GPQA, 88.3 Terminal-Bench) while Qwen3.8 has zero. Moonshot promised K3 weights by July 27 — the community is watching that date the same way they're watching Qwen's open-weight promise.

- **vs Fable 5:** Qwen3.7-Max already scores 92.4 GPQA at $1.25 input — one eighth of Fable 5's input price. If Qwen3.8 repeats the 3.7 formula with more parameters and keeps the pricing, it will be one of the best value models on the market without needing to beat anyone's benchmark.

- **vs GPT-5.6:** OpenAI's latest [GPT-5.6](/gpt-5-6-openai-sol-terra-luna.html) (Sol/Terra/Luna) has not released open weights either. The Chinese vs. Western frontier competition is really a proprietary vs. proprietary fight — open source is the collateral winner.

## What to Watch Before You Migrate

Do not move production workloads to Qwen3.8 on the strength of a teaser. Five specific things need to land first, and each one is checkable in under a minute once it exists:

1. **An official Qwen blog post or model card** with a published benchmark table, the same way Qwen3.7 and Qwen3.6 were documented at [qwen.ai/blog](https://qwen.ai/blog)

1. **The active parameter count,** not just the 2.4T total, since that determines serving cost and whether self-hosting is realistic

1. **A HuggingFace repository with a real license file,** if the open-weight promise is going to mean anything

1. **Published API pricing,** to confirm Alibaba is holding its value position rather than following Moonshot's premium pivot

1. **Independent benchmark coverage** from Artificial Analysis or similar, because launch numbers from any lab are marketing until a third party reproduces them

🧪 Your own evaluation on your own tasks beats every published number — which is the one piece of advice in this article that will never go out of date. Test Qwen3.8-Max-Preview through the official Alibaba console, benchmark it on your workload, and keep your production traffic where it is until the data arrives.

## Qwen3.8 Scorecard

Key Metrics at a Glance

💎

2.4T

Total Parameters

🎨

3

Modalities

💰

$6

Starting Price

📅

TBD

Open Weight

📊

0

Published Benchmarks

🔥

High

Community Hype

## The Bigger Picture: Why This Matters

Qwen3.8's launch landed in a week where the trillion-parameter club expanded from one to four members: Kimi K3 (2.8T), Qwen3.8 (2.4T), Inkling (975B), and MiniMax M3. The competitive dynamic is shifting rapidly.

**For Chinese AI labs,** this is a race to establish open-weight dominance before Western labs catch up. Moonshot's [planned IPO in as little as six months](https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2026-07-19/china-s-moonshot-plans-ipo-in-six-months-after-ai-breakthrough) after reaching $300M ARR puts pressure on Alibaba to deliver something that justifies its own valuation.

**For developers,** the Token Plan pricing at $6/month is the real story. Even if Qwen3.8 doesn't beat Fable 5 on every benchmark, delivering 90% of frontier quality at 15% of frontier cost is a compelling value proposition. Alibaba's real weapon has never been topping leaderboards — it's delivering frontier-level capability at a price Western labs can't match.

**For the open-source community,** the open-weight promise is the most consequential claim. If Alibaba follows through, Qwen3.8 would be the first trillion-parameter model with publicly available weights — a watershed moment for the open-weight movement. But as we've seen with Qwen3.7-Max and Qwen3.6-Max-Preview, promises don't always materialize.

The gap between Chinese and Western AI labs is narrowing — or in some cases, reversing. [Grok 4.5](/grok-4-5-xai-beats-opus-cheaper-openai-claude.html) and [GLM-5.2](/glm-5-2-new-open-source-llm-beats-claude-opus-frontier.html) represent Western counter-moves, but the weekly cadence of trillion-parameter announcements from China suggests the balance of innovation is shifting.

Related Coverage

[

Kimi K3: Moonshot's 2.8T Open Frontier Model

Moonshot AI's direct competitor to Qwen3.8 at 2.8 trillion parameters with published benchmarks.

](/kimi-k3-open-frontier-intelligence.html)
[

Claude Fable 5: The Model Qwen3.8 Claims to Trail

Anthropic's flagship model — the benchmark target that all frontier models are measured against.

](/claude-fable-5-anthropics-newest-mythos-model.html)
[

GPT-5.6: OpenAI's Three-Tier Family

Sol, Terra, and Luna — OpenAI's response to the Chinese frontier surge.

](/gpt-5-6-openai-sol-terra-luna.html)
[

Inkling: Thinking Machines Lab's 975B Open Model

Ex-OpenAI CTO Murati's entry into the trillion-parameter club with 41B active parameters.

](/inkling-thinking-machines.html)
[

Qwen AgentWorld 35B-A3B: Open-Source Efficiency

The smaller Qwen3 line that ships Apache 2.0 — contrast with the closed Max tier.

](/qwen-agentworld-35b-a3b-open-source.html)
[

GLM-5.2: Zhipu's Open-Source Frontier Challenge

China's other major player in the open-weight frontier race, bundled in Alibaba's Token Plan.

](/glm-5-2-new-open-source-llm-beats-claude-opus-frontier.html)

## Primary Sources & Further Reading

- [Qwen Blog — Official Qwen announcements and technical reports](https://qwen.ai/blog)

- [Qoder — Qwen3.8-Max-Preview Event Documentation](https://docs.qoder.com/events/qwen-max-preview)

- [X — Alibaba Qwen team launch tweet](https://x.com/Alibaba_Qwen/status/2078759124914098291)

- [X — Developer Shuai Bai on multimodal capabilities](https://x.com/shuai_bai_/status/2078775798841119222)

- [Alibaba Cloud — Model Studio Supported Models](https://www.alibabacloud.com/help/en/model-studio/models)

- [Bloomberg — Moonshot's IPO Plans After AI Breakthrough](https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2026-07-19/china-s-moonshot-plans-ipo-in-six-months-after-ai-breakthrough)

- [The Decoder — Alibaba's Qwen takes on Kimi K3 (Matthias Bastian, Jul 19, 2026)](https://the-decoder.com/alibabas-qwen-takes-on-kimi-k3-with-open-weight-qwen-3-8-says-model-is-second-only-to-fable-5/)

- [BuildFastWithAI — Qwen3.8 Preview: 2.4T Params, Open Weights (Jul 19, 2026)](https://www.buildfastwithai.com/blogs/qwen3-8-preview-2-4t-params-open-weights-release)

- [Kie.ai — What Is Qwen3.8-Max? Alibaba's 2.4T Flagship (Jul 19, 2026)](https://kie.ai/blog/what-is-qwen3-8-max)

- [Techsy — Qwen3.8: 2.4T Parameters, Open Weights, No Benchmarks](https://techsy.io/en/blog/qwen-3-8)

- [ExplainX — Qwen3.8-Max Preview: Token Plan & Open Weight (Jul 19, 2026)](https://www.explainx.ai/blog/qwen-3-8-max-preview-open-weight-token-plan-july-2026)

This article was researched and written by ZVHH Research. All benchmark data is attributed to its source. Claims labeled "claimed" or "unconfirmed" have not been independently verified. We update this article when official Qwen3.8 benchmarks or model cards are published.

Powered by Allam 7B (SDAIA)
